Springs

Posted: September 23, 2009 in Leaf Springs, Springs

So I have a problem that I have been working through with the guys at oldihc.org. Currently my front leaf springs are nearly flat under weight. I found this link which kind of details what should be done about this problem: Leaf Spring Restoration… it was at Mobile One’s website of all places. It is fascinating that they don’t mention that you should find the original spring height etc… prior to bringing the springs in. They mention in the article that you basically leave your springs to the gurus and they will know (because they are gurus with experience) what height the springs should be at and re-arch them appropriately.

More to come on the springs after I have a chat with the guys at Denver Spring. On a related note, I just purchased these shocks (Rancho 5119) for the front to replace the done for Delco shocks currently on it. Rancho seems to get good reviews with people on their shocks and anything probably beats a plain jane Monroe shock.

p.s. I will put some pics of those shocks up tonight, they are a hot mess.

Leave a comment